DAS is focused on delivering its three pre-election pledges and identifying future policy areas where it can influence and campaign for change on behalf of disabled people.

Ahead of the Scottish Parliament elections in May 2016 the DAS pledge gathered the support of an incredible 115 candidates (one fifth), reflecting the importance placed across political parties on the forthcoming devolved elements of the welfare system.  The opportunity  to design new welfare benefits and employment programmes to improve support and empower disabled people is an exciting challenge in this new parliamentary term. 

The DAS pledge also identified an appeal to address the stigma and discrimination which is still widely experienced by disabled people in all areas of life.  This continues to be a significant barrier to disabled people, limiting their ability to live their lives as they wish to.

Of the candidates who supported the DAS pledge 43 were successfully elected to the Scottish Parliament and DAS will seek their support to ensure that its three pledge commitments are delivered.

(Download the DAS Pledge here.)

The 43 elected MSPs that signed the DAS pledge are listed below, DAS welcomes their continued support in this forthcoming parliamentary term:

Alasdair Allan, SNP (Na h-Eileanan an Iar) - Jackie Baillie, Labour (Dumbarton) - Claire Baker,

Labour (Kirkcaldy and Mid Scotland and Fife) - Miles Briggs, Conservative (Edinburgh Southern) -

Donald Cameron, Conservative (Argyll & Bute) - Jackson Carlaw, Conservative (Eastwood & West

of Scotland) - Angela Constance, SNP (Almond Valley) - Bruce Crawford, SNP (Stirling) - Graeme

Day, SNP (Angus South) - James Dornan, SNP (Glasgow Cathcart) - Fergus Ewing, SNP (Inverness

& Nairn) - Linda Fabiani, SNP (East Kilbride) - Neil Findlay, Labour (Almond Valley and Lothian

Region) - John Finnie, Green (Highland & Islands) - Rhoda Grant, Labour (Highlands & Islands) -

Iain Gray, Labour (East Lothian & South Scotland) - Patrick Harvie, Green (Glasgow) - Jamie

Hepburn, SNP (Cumbernauld & Kilsyth) - Daniel Johnson, Labour (Edinburgh Southern) - Bill Kidd,

SNP (Glasgow Anniesland & Glasgow) - Johann Lamont, Labour (Glasgow Pollok & Glasgow) - John

Lamont, Conservative (Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire) - Angus MacDonald, SNP (Falkirk East)

- Lewis MacDonald, Labour (Aberdeen Central and North East Scotland) - Ken Macintosh, Labour

(Eastwood & Glasgow) - Ben MacPherson, SNP (Edinburh Northern & Leith) - Jenny Marra, Labour

(Dundee City West and North East Scotland Region) - John Mason, SNP (Glasgow Shettleston) -

Liam McArthur, Liberal Democrats (Orkney) - Stuart McMillan, SNP (Greenock & Inverclyde) -

Shona Robison, SNP (Dundee City East) - Alex Rowley, Labour (Cowdenbeath) - Mark Ruskell,

Green (Mid Scotland & Fife) - Michael Russell, SNP (Argyll & Bute) - Tavish Scott, Liberal Democrats

(Shetland) - Elaine Smith, Labour (Coatbridge & Chryston) - Shirley-Anne Somerville, SNP

(Dunfermline) - David Stewart, Labour (Inverness and Nairn) - Alex Stewart Clarke, Conservative

(Mid Fife and Glenrothes) - John Swinney, SNP (Perthshire North & Mid Scotland and Fife) - Maree

Todd, SNP (Highlands & Islands) - Maureen Watt, SNP (Aberdeenshire South and North Kincardine)

- Sandra White, SNP (Glasgow Kelvin)



Action on Hearing Loss logo Capability Scotland logo Enable Scotland logo RNIB Scotland logo Sense Scotland logo